Fattening up! - Reisverslag uit Elsthorpe, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu Fattening up! - Reisverslag uit Elsthorpe, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu

Fattening up!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarah

14 Mei 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Elsthorpe

Hello people!

Everything good here! The weather is being really, really good and kind of too warm for this time of the year. It's been sunny everyday with temperatures around 18-20 degrees: and this is autumn with winter just around the corner (in a week time)! So I have been a lot outside and catching some sun to get a tan on ;) They say the two places on earth with the strongest sun is first the Sahara in Africa and second Hawkes Bay, which is where I am in New Zealand. No worries mum, I put sun cream factor 50+ everyday on my scar on my forehead :P

I have also been to the two biggest towns in this area, which is Hastings and Havelock North. It takes 1 hour to drive to it, just to give you guys an idea how remote I live at the moment. So yeah, it was pretty nice to have a wander around and I get to do some shopping and drinking coffee. Cause maaaaaan, the nicest coffee there is you find in New Zealand. Even at the gas station the coffee is better than in most of the cafes in Holland haha. Besides drinking a lot of coffee, I also start to eat more. I think it's because of how stress-free I am. And of course how nice the food is here (their meat is the best I ever had!!). So prepare yourself when I get home, I am going be fat hahaha (I gained 4 kg in 5 weeks).

But I try to do some hiking everyday to prevent getting too fat. Like last week, I got up at 06.00 in the morning and hiked all the way up to the top of the hill to see the sun rise over the sea, it was beautiful :) The scenery still amazes me, a mix of Great Britain and Switzerland: pretty good!

At the moment it's duck shooting season, so a few days ago in the afternoon I went with Harvey, Lochie and Forbes in the quad and we drove into the hills with two guns to shoot some ducks. However, we didn't have any luck in finding ducks so in the end of the evening Harvey and Forbes shot a rabbit. Pretty sad to see but I am getting used to it. It is normal to kill animals here yourself and as I eat the beautiful and fresh meat, it is kind of hypocrite of me to find it sad. In a couple of weeks time I will watch Harvey kill a sheep, wish me luck not to faint ;)

Check ya later!
Lots of love xxxx

  • 14 Mei 2014 - 08:51

    Mama:

    Sounds like the relaxed life suits you! Glad to hear you're putting the cream on - knew you would, but funnily enough, I was thinking about it a few days ago when the sun was shining here! xxxxx

  • 14 Mei 2014 - 10:05

    Lieke:

    Sarah! So good to hear that you're stress-free and loving it! Gaining some weight isn't so bad, when it's because of steaks haha ;) Good luck indeed with the sheepkilling... We don't want you faint and end up with another scar! xx

  • 15 Mei 2014 - 10:28

    Pa:

    Dag schat, prachtige ervaringen doe jij op! Als je straks terug bent mag jij een willekeurige koe uit de wei hier slachten en wat lekkers voor ons maken... En wat kilootjes kan geen kwaad.. Straks weer de wereld door, kijken wat er dan gebeurt. Veel liefs! Pa, xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sarah

Actief sinds 18 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 393
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9540

Voorgaande reizen:

01 April 2014 - 01 December 2014

My backpacktrip around the world!

Landen bezocht: