That's a farmlife for me - Reisverslag uit Elsthorpe, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu That's a farmlife for me - Reisverslag uit Elsthorpe, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu

That's a farmlife for me

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarah

29 April 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Elsthorpe

Howdy everyone!
Sorry I haven't kept more in touch with you guys, but for I knew it another 2 weeks have passed. Guess it's a good thing though, as you know what they say: time flies when you're having fun ;)

Well I arrived here on the 5th of April and now it's 3.5 weeks later. It's amazing how fast I settled in with the family and I'm totally used to living in the countryside by now. I must say it's very calming actually :) When I'm hiking the views are sooo amazing, all you can see is the
deep blue ocean or the green hills. Nothing disturbing these views, like buildings or factories, really all you can see is nature. And there is no noise, except for some cows or sheep mooing haha.
I find myself pinching myself everyday just to believe that I'm actually walking around here in New Zealand!

Since the last time I wrote my blog I have done lots and lots of things.
Usually my day consists of helping out in the house (like cleaning & cooking) and taking care of the kids. Besides that I help out on the farm (help with the horses & gardening). At the moment it's hunting season, and a week ago I came with Sam and Joe and Harvey's mum Jude to look at Rachel and Harvey going hunting. About 60 people came with their horses/ponies and after the hounds (the dogs) were released the hunt was started! The riders run along paddocks following the hounds which are trying to find the scent of a hare (a big rabbit) and jump fences to get to the different paddocks. Pretty cool to see!

Harvey's kids Forbes (12 years) and Lochie (9 years) join us every 2 weekends and showed me around the farm grounds. I even sat on the back of Forbes dirtbike which was pretty cool, although at first I was a
bit apprehensive because a 12 year old boy would drive a propper big dirtbike haha. And they were like: uuh what is the problem? And I was like eeeh well dude you're 12 years old :P But these boys grow up
on a farm and learn to drive at a pretty young age. So after a few rides I didn't mind anymore :P They also taught me how to shoot and how to drive the dirtbike myself and it was AWESOME!! Racing through the paddock with a tough ass helmet on; it made me feel like a real cowgirl: jihaaaa! However, the day after tomorrow will be my first day to be back in the 'city', which is also quite good. I am still a city girl after all ;)

Well that's for now!
I'll try to keep you guys updated more often.
Lots of love xxxx

  • 29 April 2014 - 21:39

    Mama:

    Glad you're starting to feel at home there. Sounds good. xx

  • 01 Mei 2014 - 13:07

    Kirsten:

    He lieve Saar,

    Wat lijkt me het heerlijk om iedere dag even 5 min om je heen te kijken en niks te zien behalve zee en groen. Wat lijkt me dat ontspannend.
    Ik weet dat het goed met je gaat maar wil toch weer even benoemen dat ik heel blij ben dat je het zo naar je zin hebt! Weer super leuk om je reisverslag te lezen. Spreek je snel !! xxxx

  • 04 Mei 2014 - 15:50

    Iris:

    Sarah, klinkt heerlijk rustgevend! Genieten :) en wat een mooi uitzicht!
    Is het internet oké daar? Een keertje skypen lijkt me gezellig :)

    Ik dacht trouwens dat ik me had aangemeld voor de mailinglijst (dat ik steeds een melding krijg als je weer een berichtje achterlaat), maar hij doet het nog niet.. Iemand tips?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sarah

Actief sinds 18 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 342
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9539

Voorgaande reizen:

01 April 2014 - 01 December 2014

My backpacktrip around the world!

Landen bezocht: