It's Auckland, baby! - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu It's Auckland, baby! - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Sarah Roderick - WaarBenJij.nu

It's Auckland, baby!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sarah

04 April 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Auckland

Hi everyone!
I safely arrived in Auckland :)
My journey from the Netherlands to New Zealand went fine, although it took aaaages (Amsterdam-Hong Kong took me 11.5 emotional hours, at Hong Kong I had to wait for 15 hours and Hong Kong-Auckland took me 10.5 hours but with a delay of 2.5 hours due to stormy weather in Hong Kong).
So in total it took me 39.5 hours to get here!
But soooo worth it, Auckland is very relaxed and lots of different nationalities live here. The weather is gorgeous with its 23 degrees and lots of sunshine.
In the beginning it felt very weird to be travelling on my own, it felt quite lonely and I felt I looked like a loner :(
But it's getting to feel more normal and I actually quite enjoy doing things when I want to and to make my own decisions: it's growing on me!

The hostel I'm staying in is very nice. It's clean, right in the city center and the people who go there are very friendly. It also has a pool, sauna and spa on top of the roof, how cool is that??
I sleep in a 4person's dorm with our own shower and toilet. I share the room with 2 Swiss sisters and 1 Kiwi (older) guy. He only stayed 1 night luckely, he was some strange dude :P So instead of him there's a South African girl, who is much nicer and normal haha!

My jetlag is not bad, I do feel quite tired all the time and I don't sleep as good, but that will change over time!
As I only had 1 full day in Auckland I made the best of today and I went on a ferry to Devonport. This is a very nice seaside part of Auckland with a very relaxed atmosphere and pretty Edwardian houses with palmtrees in the gardens. I climbed up Victorian mountain to catch a nice view of Auckland's skyline and sat at the beach. All very relaxed :)

Tomorrow I will head to my guestfamily's farm with the Nakedbus (I hope I can keep my clothes on!). They live in Elsthorpe, which is located on the eastcoast of New Zealand. I can't wait to meet them!
The person who got me in contact with the family said me and the guestfamily woman will get very along, as she is also a bit crazy ;)
Let's hope for the best!
I'm not sure if there's internet on the farm, so I'm not sure when my next weblog will come...
Hope everything is well with everyone!

Lots of love,
Sarah

  • 04 April 2014 - 08:19

    Kirsten :

    Fijn dat je goed bent aangekomen Saar. En dat je een leuke eerste dag hebt gehad. Succes met de busreis ik hoop dat het mee valt en je onderweg kan plassen ;) Veel plezier met het ontmoeten van je gastfamilie!
    Dikke kus!

  • 04 April 2014 - 08:35

    Piet:

    Wauw, klinkt goed allemaal hoor. Zo te horen heb je het naar je zin, Weet je zeker dat het een hostel is, het klinkt als een lekker luxe hotel. Als je dit zo hoort, krijg je wel zin in vakantie in Nieuw Zeeland.

  • 04 April 2014 - 09:17

    Janneke:

    Heee Sarah,

    Klinkt allemaal super! Logisch dat je je in het begin alleen voelt! :) Maar dat komt echt allemaal goed! Heel veel plezier bij je gastgezin! Succes met de busreis :)

    Liefs Janneke

  • 04 April 2014 - 09:45

    Mama:

    Sounds good! Sounds as though it's your type of hostel (and mine) too! xxxx

  • 04 April 2014 - 09:52

    Sophieke:

    Hee lieve Saar,
    Wow wat een lange reis! Maaarr je hebt het overleeft!Je eerste dag/nacht in Auckland klinkt als een heerlijk begin (en een goed begin is het halve werk ;) ). Heel veel plezier bij je gastgezin, ik hoop dat ze net zo lief zijn als iedereen zegt. Hopelijk lees ik snel meer van je!
    Dikke kus

  • 05 April 2014 - 09:58

    Rembert:

    Ha schat, goed te horen dat je je weg begint te vinden als world traveller! Dank ook voor het triathlon fotootje, heel attent. Ben benieuwd naar je eerste ervaringen op de farm, ik zie al beelden voor me van jou op een zwart paard in galop langs de kustlijn.... Geniet ervan en hoop snel weer wat te horen! xxx

  • 08 April 2014 - 11:53

    Iris:

    Super leuk om te lezen Sarah! Ik krijg helemaal kriebels in mijn buik.. geniet er voluit van en laat maar snel iets weten over je guestfamily. Kusjes

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sarah

Actief sinds 18 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 363
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9538

Voorgaande reizen:

01 April 2014 - 01 December 2014

My backpacktrip around the world!

Landen bezocht: